I Graduated… What Now?

Lessons and advice on the job search from one recent graduate to another.

22, Fabulous and Making Moves

Global_Woman

While driving down the road with my friend JoVanna, our Spice Girls jam session was abruptly cut short (I wasn’t behind the wheel so there wasn’t an accident!). Peeved that she decided to mute “Spice Up Your Life” mid- song, I questioned her actions.

JoVanna defended that the bank we were pulling up to 1.) did not share a mutual appreciation for our anthem; “Never Give Up On The Good Times,”  and 2.) may not take her tax payment seriously if we didn’t act mature.

Of course I was amused that my friend pays her own taxes, never having seen a tax form myself, but was amazed to learn that she was paying taxes for HER company!

That day I learned about my friend’s start-up business, ILS: Industrial Labor Services.

Earlier in the year she spoke with her father whose company (IWC: Industrial Waste Control) hires temporary labor for many of their projects. They decided that instead of hiring an outside contractor, this was a possible business venture.

So, this past January, Jovanna, an OSU student who was already holding the computer science & engineering/ programming internship position at Battelle, set out to start her own staffing company.

She taught herself QuickBooks through software tutorials and consulted with lawyers and accountants. She ordered her own paychecks and figured out how to document W2 forms and insurance applications.

She set a one-year goal: get the company registered, running, and maintain her first client.

She has not only met these goals- she’s exceeded them! She currently employs 11 workers in 3 states and has exclusive staffing privileges to her first client!

Only 10 months later and she has cashed her very first paycheck from her company!

Now, I’m not saying that everyone is wired to start and manage her/his own company. But, I am saying that we mustn’t let opportunities pass us by.  JoVanna saw a void and took it upon herself to fill it. She didn’t wait until she graduated, she didn’t excuse it because of a lack of knowledge and she didn’t hold it in the back of her mind as a mere possibility. She JUST DID IT!!! (Nike was on to something all those years ago).

So many of my friends (all very talented and highly capable) have what I consider “pipe dreams” (restaurant owner, travel writer, personal stylist, etc.) My question is: Why not? Find the skills, resources, funds to make them a reality. The worst that’s going to happen is that we fail.

As we pulled away from the bank that afternoon I asked her what her biggest fear was. Her response: “Not getting it all to come spice_girls_500x375together or running into some legal obstacle that [I] wasn’t aware of. Not having enough time to do it all- the company, Batelle, school…” I gave her my vote of confidence then she cranked up “Spice Up Your Life” and we went back to being 22 year-olds.

“You will find as you look back upon your life that the moments when you have really lived are the moments when you have done things in the spirit of love.” —  Henry Drummond

A more in depth look into starting a business with low overhead and JoVanna’s personal story are soon to come!

November 9, 2009 Posted by | Advice | , , , , , | 3 Comments