I Graduated… What Now?

Lessons and advice on the job search from one recent graduate to another.

Keep Your Search Straight

clever-miss-multitask-lg-83513889Lists, journaling, excel spreadsheets- whatever method best suits you- get started!

I recently spoke to a family-friend who is investing his time in helping me get connected to the right people. His first question was: “What have you been doing on your own?”

No matter how much you’ve done so far, it’s important to keep track of everything. What would be more embarrassing than being put on the spot by a reasonable question, such as this, that we aren’t prepared to answer.

I feel that I’m reaching out to many people for advice, direction, and mentorship. To be honest, I laughed at my dad when he originally suggested that I keep track of everything, so I’m not confused. “Dad, I know who I talk to and I know what I’ve applied for,” was my response.

Honestly, he has a point (Although I’d NEVER admit that to him, and I doubt he even knows what a blog is.).  I can recall who I’ve talked to and what I’ve applied to, yet I wasn’t able to provide a sufficient response to this question. Organization keeps us from forgetting anything as well as keeps it in order. STEPS are important. A simple example:

  1. Emailed Joe Smith to inquire about a position with ABC company.
  2. Joe Smith put me in touch with his HR department as well as gave me John Doe’s contact information at XYZ corporation. He thinks they may be hiring.
  3. Got in touch with John Doe, who is forwarding my resume on.

Thanks to my newly developed list, I will not get my connections mixed up, I will have record of initiatives and results, I won’t forget to follow up with John Doe, or to thank Joe Smith for his efforts, and I’ll now be able to give a detailed summary of the steps I’ve taken on my own. The friend will now be able to recognize my determination and dedication, thus assuring him that his own time will not go to waste. Also, I can refer back to my list to see what actions resulted in positive feedback, and which actions yielded little response.

October 29, 2009 Posted by | Advice | , , , , , | 2 Comments